On the Ballot for Cohasset Town Elections, May 9 are….

April 8 is the last day any candidates who have filed nomination papers to be on the ballot can withdraw from the ballot. Otherwise, this is what the contested seats will look like:

Running for one seat on the Board of Selectmen: Selectman Martha Gjesteby, Advisory Chair Peter Pescatoreand School committeeman Paul Schubert.

Running for three seats on the Board of Library Trustees are these four candidates: Incumbents Lynn DeGiacomo and Agnes McCann, and Meaghan Hollenbeck Barry and David Dwyer.

Running for one seat on the Board of Health: Harvey Dickstein and Lynn Doxey.

Two newcomers will run for two seats on the School Committee: Katherine Dugan and Ellen Maher.

In related news.

Water commissioner Dan Varney resigned from his board recently. He resigned too late in the process for his position to be on the ballot. Accordingly, the Board of Selectmen and the Water Commissioners will meet to appoint an individual to serve one year of Varney’s unexpired term.

Other resignations.

Stuart Ivimey and Charles Samuelson of the Planning Board recently made their intent known to resign from the Planning Board at the end of May. Ivimey serves as chair of that committee and Samuelson is the clerk. Ivimey’s term is up this year. Saumelson ‘s term expires in 2018.

Sometime this summer Planners and the Board of Selectmen will meet to fill two one-year appointments to that board. Accordingly, at annual elections 2016 three planning board positions will appear on the election ballot: a five-year term (Clark Brewer’s seat), a four-year term and a  two-year term. Planners have five-year terms.







© Copyright 2015 Tanna K, All rights Reserved. Written For: Tinytown Unleashed